Once Upon a Time in Wales

A boy kissed me

Dressed by his grandmother (where were your parents?)

 In thick perfumed soft purple velvet

 I was under a spell too!

 Yet you kissed me and held my hand

 muddling the wicked witch

 On a silver/gray cool welsh misty day

 a purple blue eyed blond prince fancied me

 the witch uncovered your perfume dragging me back

 Another prince broke the spell years later

 Thank you for waking the princess with a kiss

 I hope your spell is in your pocket or on the tip of your sword or pen

 We were only 7

This poem is a moment in my childhood that I had nearly forgotten.    When I was a child I was nervous and insecure This poem reminds me of a sweet, perplexing childhood moment.  I appreciate that poetry offers me a new and old look at my childhood.
Leave a Reply

