Even a grump can attempt to sing in iambic pentameter

To kiss the day is hard to do, for grumps
The birds, they tweet and dance above my head

I need to leave my bed, not be a lump
The birds do not care that I sleep instead

I shift, I stretch, I yawn, I move my rump
Wake up, wake up, dear grump out of the bed

The birds they work, their song, I do adore
I fall to floor, and yearn for more, I snore

 

The prompt was to write in iambic pentameter, with da dum da dum da dum da dum da dum with rhyming scheme  abababcc.  I tell you this was challenging but a good exercise for me, hard to stay authentic in a style.  Takes a lot more work and play.  I would say not totally finished, being going back and forth all day trying to find a way to make it work.  Thank you for the prompt, I think!

One thought on “Even a grump can attempt to sing in iambic pentameter

Leave a Reply

