Ordinarily, I wouldn’t take notes

Ordinary life is the life for me
No extra fills today
simple, comfy
morning birds and potato chips
couches, remotes
a book or two
pay some bills
watch the news
have some tea
dust house plants
go to bed when I please
socks on or off

Years ago, he bellowed
“Don’t you want the extraordinary life”
“I don’t know.  Do I?” I asked
“You do. ” He replied.
“Follow the extraordinary!”

Storing the ordinary under the rug
I climbed the extraordinary
uncovering mud, guts,  a holy grail,
the pineapple diet, naughty knaves, the third world
and gorgeous black holes
secretly craving the ordinary
I returned to the puttering, slightly overweight ordinary
If I ever decide to  climb the extraordinary
I will take with me the ordinary
and show around the very interesting
somewhat overrated extraordinary.

Leave a Reply

