a love poem

To you

my hands smell like garlic, onions and oregano
instead of pretty flowers
yet you still love me

my skin is rough and scarred
yet you hold and stroke me
as I crash through life

my belly and hips fall all over themselves
yet you tell me I’m beautiful
while feeding me chocolate

wiry hairs spring in unexpected places
I am no longer the girl next door
yet you only have eyes for me

my body speaks in gurgles and grunts
yet you tell me I have the sweetest voice

Thank you for doing god’s work

as well as the dishes
and the laundry

Love me

Leave a Reply

